Meme

meme Attempting to create a visual representation of my memetic theme and the propagation of my meme, I began to scribble frantically any thoughts or ideas of what my meme encompasses. What is a meme? According to Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, a meme is an idea, behavior, style, or usage that spreads from person to person within a culture. I couldn’t help but reflect on how my meme was assembled and how that affected (or infected) it’s propagation. My personal observations exposed dark thoughts and how I was “assimilated” into this living, breathing being that gives off unsettling minute pieces of information that joins (or is lost in an inconsequential cloud of lost memes) or sparks a larger breathing unit of memeplexes. How can I compete with all the other memes out there? I reviewed my scribbles and came to a conclusion; I have very little or no meme. But that can’t be true, can it? Everyone must have a meme that affects someone in their life. After 28 years of creating and dispersing memes throughout this world, I came to the conclusion that my meme sucks.
But how could this be? Who or what has effected my meme to give me such low-self-of-meme. Frantically I wrote, scribbled, sketched and eventually created a pulsating breathing flash clip that illustrates the assemblage of my meme. Ironically through this entire process or creating and posting a visual representation of my meme, it has inadvertently procreated into cyberspace with the possibility of affecting another meme… finally.

http://www.sarahlayne.com/swf/meme_soriano.swf

Leave a Reply

