Interactive Dream Analysis

I am considering creating an interactive piece on dream interpretation. One possibility is to create a meta-dream journal that has a database for dreams. The user could type in their dreams into this database, elements are pulled from the entries, words are compiled and exported through a “dream analyzer” where nouns, adjectives and verbs are examined to create an interpretation. For example, if the user types in “I was chased by my school teacher” the analyzer would use the word “chase” and “teacher” and pull out possibilities for their meaning for the user to review. Although I am worried the results would be incredibly inaccurate after going through this process. The program would have to interpret each noun with consideration to the related verbs or adjectives in every sentence. Then that information would have to be analyzed within the whole context of the dream entry.

Creating a visual dream game is another option. The user could pull visual elements together and rearrange them to create an artistic dream piece. Common themes or symbols would have to be available for the user to draw upon. Of course there would have to be hundreds of graphics and hundreds of different scenarios the user could create. And how exactly would the graphics interact with one another to create meaning or art?

3 thoughts on “Interactive Dream Analysis

  1. “More than iron, more than lead, more than gold I need electricity.
    I need it more than I need lamb or pork or lettuce or cucumber.
    I need it for my dreams.”

    Racter, from The Policeman’s Beard Is Half Constructed
    (qtd. in the Wikipedia entry Racter)

    A couple things come to mind: First, this would be an excellent application of artificial intelligence in art. I am instantly reminded of the aforementioned software Racter and ELIZA. The database concept could be pulled even further into an expert system type model.

    As far as the graphics? I’d start with making graphics on visual elements linked with database contents. But–and this is key–I’d implment behavior algorithms for the agents based on simple rules. Simple rules can lead to emergence of complex behavior. One of my favorite books I’ve ever read, A New Kind of Science by Stephen Wolfram explains this in detail (browseable online here)

    That’s my $0.02, FWIW

  2. This could work- the wizard could search elements of input to form some kind of analysis. Although, this is just an idea and I’m still pouring over many ideas as possibilities, it’s good to know it could be possible. This type of programming is new to me but I’m willing to learn to get the results I want.

    Thanks Chromiumsix!

Leave a Reply

