Layers of Feedback and Arvo Part

The initial feedback I recorded using my video camera and amplifier became an interesting composition when I began to add layers of additional feedback and tone variations. As I was finishing my composition, I began to notice a similarity in my audio feedback piece and Arvo Part’s, Stabat Mater.

Check out the similarities: My composition (feedback_layers08.wav, 252 KB), Sample from Stabat Mater (part.wav, 868KB – or listen here (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/…)

After listening to the two audio pieces back to back (and simultaneously) I am amazed at how similar they are. The beautiful layering and weaving of tones is what draws me to Arvo Part and what motivates and inspires me in my own work. (Not to say that my work is any where near the extraordinary level of Part!)

Listen to the entire composition (feedbacklayers.mov, Quicktime format, 8.96MB)

Find out more about Arvo Part.

Leave a Reply

