56 Days: I’m Still Here – Day 23

56days_day23_web56days_day23_detailThis latest addition was a pain. It took me 1.5 hours to sew the right chest piece on. Usually the sections take 15 minutes to 45 minutes max (excluding when I began this project). I thought I was becoming faster with adding the layers but for some reason I was having the worst time with this addition. I had to upgrade to a stronger thread because some of the seams are on the verge of bursting. Sewing with the heavy duty thread was like learning how to sew again! After multiple knots, tangles, snags, and resewing, the torso of the jacket turned out looking very strange. The panel has completely altered the way the jacket looks. It’s bulky and becoming increasing difficult to move in.

I chose a larger black section in reaction to the previous day’s interaction which ended negatively. This most likely affected my sewing abilities today.

Read more about the project concept from day 1.

Leave a Reply

