56 Days: I’m Still Here – Day 37

56days_day37_web

56days_day37_detail356days_day37_detail2

56days_day37_detail

A left black torso panel was added today. The piece was added with out any problems luckily. I’ve included a detail of the shoulder and back. I could pull the torso piece all the way to the center of the back but the jacket is so restrictive I’m afraid to make it any tighter.

I was unsure if I added the black panel because of my spouse or because of my over reaction of things and taking things personally. The piece was added after a conflict with friends and I felt I received little support from my spouse. I am beginning to contemplate the reasoning behind each piece more in depth than I did at the beginning of this performance. Are these pieced of fabric a reflection of me or him? Even though most people I’ve discussed this project with have assumed that I am displaying publicly how my husband is treating me, it is most definitely my own reaction to the way I handle conflict. This is how I determine a negative and positive reaction. Basically, every layer of fabric is saying “This is how well I handled the last day.”

Read more about the project concept from day 1.

Leave a Reply

