Sewing Flexinol Into Fabric

gown1_interfacing

Using interfacing to attach flexinol to fabric

For the past few days I’ve been experimenting with different ways of attaching or inserting the flexinol to fabric. I’ve included images using one sided interfacing and ironing the flexinol to the fabric. This seemed like it would work well and I wouldn’t have to worry about thread showing through the garment. But the interfacing restricted the flexinol too much and there was not enough movement of the fabric when the flexinol was powered. I’m using .015″ diameter wire so a thicker wire might work better with interfacing. I finally decided that sewing the flexinol to the fabric loosely was the best method of attaching the flexinol. This enabled the fabric to twist the fabric pretty well.

gown1_pinned

I pinned the flexinol to the gown before sewing it with the sewing machine.

Sewing flexinol into garment

Sewing flexinol into garment

gown1_sewn

I sewed along the left and right inside of the curved nitinol

3 rows of flexinol sewn

3 rows of flexinol sewn

Front of night gown

Front of night gown

gown1_rear

Back of the night gown

Find out what this project is about.

One thought on “Sewing Flexinol Into Fabric

  1. This is exactly what I want to try. I just discovered Arduino, the lilypad and flexinol. I want to make wings for a comic con costume that can deploy and return. So excited to see thus here.

Leave a Reply

